Life · Uncategorized

Hey 2016…. slow down!!

ff4e1e926df6e2f2b23b2a4d4b5a3a7e

Ummmm. What happened to May? 

And while we are asking questions, what happened to March and April too! 

I’m seriously asking….. I have no idea how we got here!

I have often remarked that as I get older, the years seem to pass by faster and faster. I am not alone in this sentiment and it got me thinking about why I feel time slipping away from me.

1f029c5c3ad7fb55577d31339d9dd1c5
Dali knew the feeling….

Now, don’t get me wrong. I don’t for one moment feel like my life is passing me by. My next birthday will be my 35th and I honestly don’t feel a day over 25 (unless I have been out drinking the night before in which case I feel close to 95!). I feel young and vibrant and alive most of the time and I don’t even see a hint of mid-life weariness on the horizon (perhaps my decision to not have children has helped a little in that respect, but that is a subject for another day) So why this strange melancholy when I look at the calendar?

I think that it has to do with milestones and achievements. When you are younger, you look forward to so much. Birthdays, School Holidays, Christmas… and they always seem to far away. But when they arrive, they are over in the blink of an eye. Then there is finishing school, college, university. Getting married, buying a house, having children. All this things you anticipate and wait for and then when they finally happen, its done. Finished. Over.

I remember the planning and excitement of my wedding. Working for a year to arrange one day and then before I knew it I was celebrating my 1st anniversary! The more of life’s milestones that you pass, the more you have to reminisce on and I think that is what gives you the feeling of time passing quickly. “Did all that really happen? Was it really THAT long ago? Where has they time gone?” Yeah, I bet you have all said that about something in your lives right? 

Anyway…. here we are, June!

95265894a23860f690d90e5d33f1928c
Heaven…..

The summer has arrived and people are happy! Days at the beach, evenings in the beer garden and barbecues with friends… all these things make the uncomfortable boob sweat and inevitable sunburn bearable! I used to hate the summer when I was a kid, I don’t really do well with heat and I tend to get a bit grouchy if I feel too hot and bothered, but I have learned as I have gotten older that it is really the humidity that kills me. Thankfully, for the past 16 years I have lived within 3 miles of the sea and so I don’t suffer quite a much as I did when I lived in a built up, concrete jungle.

Cornish summers have a tendency to be a bit erratic weather-wise and as I write this we are in the middle of a lovely spell of warm weather but according to various weather forecasters, my garden will be getting a thorough watering in the next week or so which will be the perfect time to start my next DIY project, my new attic master suite!

So stay tuned for updates on my adventures with power tools!

 

 

Leave a Reply

